gradient
Download application form

Return to practice midwives

This module responds to the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) requirements for all nurses and midwives who have had a break from practice to undertake a formal programme of study leading to the renewal of registration.

The aim of the module is to enable you to re-enter practice with up to date knowledge and skills and to deliver care/interventions with confidence and competence.


Learning outcomes:  

  • Critically challenge and evaluate the effectiveness of care delivery models in providing person centred, clinically effective compassionate care.
  • Critically appraise the impact of health and social care policy on the provision of services for all client groups.
  • Demonstrate critical awareness of ethical issues contained within contemporary professional practice and reflect on and analyse the impact of own culture and that of others on the way care is provided.
  • Critically appraise the principles and policies underpinning the nurse?s role in promoting and supporting healthy lifestyle choices.
  • Demonstrate clinical effectiveness in working with the multi -disciplinary team in meeting complex needs and maintaining patient/client safety.
  • Utilise evidence based practice to support clinical decision making.
  • Critically evaluate own communication skills, ensuring they are effective, safe, non- discriminatory and promote effective partnership working.

Who is the module for:  

Midwives who have had a break from practice and who do not meet the NMC Post Registration and Practice Requirements (PREP).

Module code:   CLP6019Y


Entry criteria:  

Applications will be expected to have the following:
-Evidence from the practice placement provider stating support is available for the mentorship/supervision required.
-Evidence that assessment by a sign-off mentor is arranged in the practice placement. Find out more by downloading NMC Standards to support learning and assessment in practice (PDF 795K)
-Evidence of access to a supervisor of midwives is arranged in the practice placement.
-Evidence of an educational audit has been undertaken with a University to allow pre-registration students to access the practice placement.
-There are 450 hours of practice as the minimum that must be supported within the practice placement to complete the course.
-Evidence that the placement provider will ensure all required mandatory training available in the trust for example, moving and handling, basic life support.
-Evidence that the practice placement provider has initiated DBS/occupational health clearance for declaration of good health and good character for the applicant. Find out more by visiting the NMC website.

Number of credits and level of study:   30 credits at level 6.

Assessment:   - Care study exploring an aspect of care the student has undertaken with this client focusing on partnership working and effective self-care management.

- level 6 2500 words.

Completion of practice assessment competency document.

Location:   St George's, University of London

Pattern of Delivery:   Course length: 9 full teaching days or 14 teaching half-days


Module dates*

  • 10 sessions
  • Tuesday 24 September 2019
  • Wednesday 25 September 2019
  • Tuesday 1 October 2019
  • Wednesday 2 October 2019
  • Tuesday 8 October 2019
  • Wednesday 9 October 2019
  • Tuesday 22 October 2019
  • Wednesday 23 October 2019
  • Tuesday 5 November 2019
  • Wednesday 6 November 2019
  • 14 sessions
  • Wednesday 15 January 2020
  • Thursday 16 January 2020
  • Tuesday 21 January 2020
  • Wednesday 22 January 2020
  • Tuesday 28 January 2020
  • Wednesday 29 January 2020
  • Tuesday 11 February 2020
  • Wednesday 12 February 2020
  • Tuesday 18 February 2020
  • Wednesday 19 February 2020
  • Tuesday 25 February 2020
  • Wednesday 26 February 2020
  • Tuesday 3 March 2020
  • Wednesday 4 March 2020

*Dates may change

Fee:   £1657

Module leader:   Ms Georgina Sims (primary)

Questions?

Contact the PPD Programme Office who will be happy to help you with any queries.


Return to practice midwives