gradient

Recognition of prior learning

students

Recognition of prior learning

Our provision of Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) allows our students to receive academic credit for knowledge gained as a result of prior learning (formal or informal), where it can be proven as the equivalent in level and outcome to modules/courses offered as part of those schemes. It is the responsibility of the student to provide evidence to the course leader that the knowledge gained is relevant and at the appropriate level.

What is RPL?

RPL is a process by which you can gain credits towards a qualification, based on evidence of prior certificated learning or learning from past experience. The evidence you present will be assessed and, if the RPL claim is considered valid, credit will be awarded towards a qualification. RPL can be applied to a diploma, degree, postgraduate studies, masters degrees and other professional qualifications.

Why make an RPL claim?

By making an RPL claim, you may be eligible to gain credit for prior learning, if it is considered valid and relevant to the course you wish to study. As a result, you may be able to access a course without meeting the formal entry requirements, and/or you could progress to a later stage of a course.

Gaining RPL

If you are enrolling on to a degree and have prior learning you would like to be recognised for, contact the RPL advisor of the course you are interested in, in the first instance. Before you make contact, it would be useful to have an updated CV and any relevant certificates or transcripts on-hand. If you are enquiring about prior learning from experience, it would be helpful to write a short profile highlighting that experience. Following your enquiry, the RPL advisor can decide whether or not to proceed.

Some courses may charge a fee for RPL. Please contact your programme director for further information.

Course directors and/or RPL advisors for workforce development eligible degrees are as follows:

Rehabilitation sciences
  • Physiotherapy BSc/MSc (pre-registration)

Ahmed Younis
Email: A.Younis@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

 

  • Applied Exercise for Health MSc

Anne-Marie Hassenkamp
Email: A.Hassenkamp@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

 

  • Rehabilitation PgCert/PgDip/MSc

Gill Mein
Email: G.Mein@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

Research, Clinical leadership and Management
  • Clinical Leadership MSc

Maria Ponto
Email: m.ponto@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

 

  • Masters in Clinical Research MRes(Clin)

Cheryl Whiting
Email: c.whiting@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

Paramedic Science
  • Paramedic Practice BSc (Hons) (top-up)

Alan Rice
Email: A.Rice@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

Nursing
  • Nursing/Registered Nurse BSc (Hons)/MSc

Course Director BSc: Paul Newcombe Email: P.Newcombe@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

Course Director MSc: Louise Howard Email: L.E.Howard@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

RPL Advisor, Admissions, Recruitment and Outreach Tutor: Kris Paget Email: K.Paget@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

  • Healthcare Practice FdSc

Course Director: Lucie Llewellyn Email: L.Llewellyn@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

Course Director: Jacqueline Chang Email: J.Chang@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

RPL Advisor: Judith Francois Email: Judith.Francois@sgul.Kingston.ac.uk

Healthcare Practice:

  • DipHE/BSc/GradCert

Course Director: Claire Chinnock Email: C.Chinnock@sgul.Kingston.ac.uk

RPL Advisor: Judith Francois Email: Judith.Francois@sgul.Kingston.ac.uk

  • PgCert/PgDip/MSc

Course Director: Emma Menzies-Gow Email: E.Menzies-Gow@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

RPL Advisor: Judith Francois Email: Judith.Francois@sgul.Kingston.ac.uk

 

Radiography

 

  • Undergraduate Therapeutic/Diagnostic Radiography BSc (Hons)

Tony Dennis
Email: a.dennis@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

 

  • Medical Imaging PgCert/PgDip/MSc (Postgraduate)

Spencer, Sherril I
Email: S.Spencer@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

 

  • Oncology Practice PgCert/PgDip/MSc (Postgraduate)

Spencer, Sherril I
Email: S.Spencer@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

 

  • Breast Evaluation PgCert/PgDip/MSc (Postgraduate)

Spencer, Sherril I
Email: S.Spencer@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

Social Work and Social Care
  • Social work and social care courses

Susan Watson
Email: Susan.Watson@sgul.kingston.ac.uk