Emergency, Cardiovascular and Critical Care Research Group

Emergency, Cardiovascular and Critical Care Research Group (ECCCR)

The Emergency, Cardiovascular and Critical Care Research (ECCCR) Group is part of the Centre for Health and Social Care based at the St George’s Hospital site in Tooting. We work closely with research and clinical partners in the NHS (particularly St George’s University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the London Ambulance Service) and collaborators in partner universities including Warwick and Swansea. We have strong international links, for example the European Society of Cardiology Acute Cardiovascular Care Association.

Our research spans clinical, organisational and systems-level research using a range of methodologies in multiple health service contexts with a multidisciplinary approach. Our portfolio includes collaboration on major trials in cardiac arrest, use of registries in heart attack care, mixed methods studies on topics such as data sharing across organisational boundaries within emergency care and the impact of new professional roles in urgent and emergency department care, and qualitative research into definitions of professionalism in the ambulance service. We are keen to help develop the next generation of research leaders and particularly welcome applicants for pre-doctoral fellowships and PhD.


  1. To provide a forum for collaborative research with academic, clinical and NHS and international partners and patients/service users to undertake high quality, impactful research in focused areas.
  2. To build critical mass over time to ‘develop the brand’ and attract external funding and collaborations.
  3. To develop the next generation of research leaders in ECCC
  4. To attract research students
  5. To improve student experience at our partner universities by fostering a culture of research informed teaching and learning by exposing predominantly teaching focused colleagues to the research process.



Professor Tom Quinn

Deputy Lead:

Dr Mary Halter, Associate Professor

Internal members


External members:


Postgraduate Research Students


Patient and Public Involvement

  • Mr Glenn Davies
  • Ms Elizabeth Lloyd Dehler