Highest number of nursing students nominated this year for the prestigious annual Student Nursing Times Awards.

0458-ADULT_NURSING-Ezzidin_Alwan-A5-(Snapshots-MacBook-Pro's-conflicted-copy-2014-07-21)The School of Nursing is very proud to announce the individuals/placements who have been shortlisted for the Student Nursing Times Awards 2015.

We have been very successful every year in seeing a number of our nominations shortlisted (and to have had some winners!), but this year has seen the largest number of individuals/placements successfully reach the finals.


They are:

Learning disability (LD) nursing student of the year:

Harriet Ostler (3rd year student) – nominated by the FHSCE LD nursing team

Most inspirational student:

Nikki Yun (3rd year adult student) – nominated by Paul Newcombe, Associate Professor

Educator of the year:

Ron Meechan, Associate Professor, Assessments and Quality – nominated by Nikki Yun (student)

Mentor of the year:

Sarah Matthewson from Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust – nominated by David Nathan, Senior Lecturer
Anita Winfield, Clinical Nurse Specialist from South West London and St George’s Mental Health Trust

Student Nurse of the Year – Post reg:

Lee Peng Lui
Laura Hart

Teaching Innovation of the Year:

Community Simulation, Kingston University and St. George’s, University of London

Student placement of the year: community

Shooting Star Chase Hospice – nominated by Jayne Price, Associate Professor on behalf of the FHSCE child nursing team
Haringey Learning Disability Team – nominated by Anne Ambridge, Senior Lecturer on behalf of the FHSCE LD nursing team
Homeless Health Team from Croydon Health Services – nominated by Daphne Callendar and supported by Cynthia Davis, Senior Lecturer.

In addition, the development of the Pan London Practice Assessment Document (PLPAD) to assess pre-registration nursing students has been shortlisted in the Partnership of the Year category which includes staff from the School of Nursing.

The award ceremony is on May 7th 2015.

See the full shortlist of nominations here.